Ohio Rental Lease Agreement Templates | PDF | Word

The Ohio rental lease agreements are to be written with the intentions of creating a fair document for the tenancy of an individual or entity for the use of occupying for commercial or residential uses. The party occupying the space, the lessee, will agree to pay rent to the party that owns the real estate, the lessor, during the period of the lease. The lessor will typically take any potential lessee's credit and background information with the rental application to ensure that they are able to afford the rent, and that they shown a history in the past of paying their bills on-time. Once approved, the lease is signed along with any deposits required on behalf of the lessor and the term of the occupation shall begin.


The Ohio commercial lease agreement allows a landlord and tenant to come to terms over the use of space for a business purpose. The property is most commonly used for either office, industrial, or retail use and before the landlord binds themselves to a long-term arrangement it is advised that the tenant be put through a financial verification with the rental application. In addition, if there is an entity involved the company’s profile should be viewed at the Secretary of…

The Ohio month to month rental agreement is a special type of tenancy as it has no end date and in accordance with Statute 5321.17 it may be terminated by either landlord or tenant with at least thirty (30) days’ notice.  The landlord and tenant will still be bound by the all State laws (Chapter 5321) so it is imperative that the property owner/manager ask the lessee for their personal and income credentials with the rental application to reduce the…

The Ohio rental application is a necessary tool used by landlords and property managers to properly view a tenant’s credit, background, and income activity through verifying with the references provided. The landlord is allowed to charge a fee for processing the verification, usually between $20 to $50, and once complete the tenant will be called to negotiate and further terms and sign the lease. How to Fill-in The tenant(s) will be asked for the necessary items; Names of all Occupants…

The Ohio residential lease agreement, also known as a Standard Lease, is a one (1) year arrangement for the use of property by an individual in order to live day to day. The individual, known as the tenant, will be required to pay a monthly rental amount, be responsible for the utilities as described in the contract, and abide by the terms and conditions agreed upon by the parties. The landlord should take caution with every potential lessee by screening them…

The Ohio sublease agreement is a real estate document used by tenants of property that have already signed a lease agreement with a landlord, and would like to rent the same space to someone else. The sublessor is required to obtain permission from the landlord if subletting is not an allowable use in the original lease contract. SubLessor’s Responsibilities The sublessor, or individual re-renting the space, should be aware that they will be held responsible for any and all actions…

The three (3) day notice to quit for the nonpayment of rent, otherwise known as the Notice to Leave the Premises, is served upon a tenant who is behind on their latest installment to the landlord. The form must follow Statute 1923.04 which gives the tenant the seventy-two (72) hour period to either move -out or pay the rent. If they do neither, they will face a legal eviction by the landlord.

REQUIRED LANDLORD DISCLOSURES

Identification (Statute 5321.18) – The owner along with any agent/manager acting on behalf of the lessor must be identified along with their address and telephone number in the rental contract.

Lead-Based Paint – Only for residential use, if the housing was constructed prior to 1978 this form must be delegated to any and all lessees.

LANDLORD-TENANT LAWS – See All at Chapter 5321 – Landlords and Tenants

Security DepositsStatute 5321.16

Maximum – There is no cap on how much a landlord may charge a tenant at the State level. Although, there are counties/towns in Ohio that have a maximum so be sure to check the local laws.

Returning – Thirty (30) days after the tenant has moved from the premises shall the landlord give back the funds.

Access to the Premises – Statute 5321.04

The landlord must grant the lessee at least twenty-four (24) hours notice before entering the property for any scheduled maintenance.