Connecticut Month to Month Lease Agreement
The Connecticut month to month lease agreement allows for the renting of residential property on a basis of thirty (30) days at a time with no expiration date. Under Sec. 47a-23 either the landlord or tenant must provide at least “reasonable notice” before terminating the lease if the amount of notice is not stated in the agreement.
Even though this type of rental contract may be a short term arrangement, it must still follow the residential State laws (Section 47a, Chapter 830). The landlord is highly recommended to accept a security deposit (no more than 2 months’ rent for individuals under 62 years old and only 1 month for ages 62 and over) and verify the tenant through the rental application.
- Common-Interest Community – Required for any type of housing unit located in a common-interest community.
- Lead-Based Paint – For any housing unit built before 1978.